The Bush Post – When it rains….it pours!

 

As my title suggests, I am once again talking about that magical thing – rain.  After getting a few welcome inches last week, temperatures skyrocketed here.  So you would think I am praying for more rain.  Well, one thing that comes with soaring temperatures is the storms.  And I am not talking about your odd thunderstorm.  We are talking super cells, and wind gusts that are so  frightening, you hope you remembered to pull in everything that was loose outside.  When you are living in the outback and one of these storms hits the amount of rain that falls in a short space of time is staggering.  So we go from being in drought to experiencing floods.  From one extreme to the other.  The scary part is that many towns get cut off from the highways, and that means delays in much needed food stocks as most is brought in by trucks.  Social media such as Facebook, which has become very important in the lives of people out here; is where everyone passes on information about road closures, storm damage, lost animals (due to the lightning and thunder), and contacting emergency services.

 

Right now, the storms have passed.  Talk is however there is more on the way tomorrow, and this is a worry if flash flooding occurs.  I love rain, and I know how much we need it.  The extremes though can make it scary at times.

 

~RB~

 

6 thoughts on “The Bush Post – When it rains….it pours!

  1. Oh dear, I pressed like, I don’t like the thought of horrific storms. But your composition about them I liked.
    if you travel back to my page… I wont use your platform to advertise my work. So I hope you remember where I am. Any way I wrote a piece on the weather where I live, I’d love your thoughts on the comparison. 😇😆

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

