Dragon – Are you old enough?

Now this song might evoke some memories, or more recently it was the theme song for the  TV series “Puberty Blues” 2012 – 2014.  Written and performed by the New Zealand band, Dragon; they rose to fame in the Australian charts, thanks largely to appearances on the ABC’s Countdown.  Though they never really made it internationally, they were affectionately adopted by  Australia (as we do with most Kiwi bands….LOL).  Whilst having a string of hits in the 70’s and then doing some cover work in the 80’s, they are still known to tour today, but sadly without the lead singer, Marc Hunter who died from cancer in 1998.

 

Ten years in the gaoler’s eye
An’ I’m thinkin’ ’bout my baby
Looking at my life go by
Falling down the streets I’m Rome
An’ I’m laughing at the poor man
Talking to the blind man

See the lady in the street car lights
Colour ‘a la Toulouse
Television and red, red wine
So won’t you tell me
Won’t you tell me the truth

 

Are you old enough
Are you old enough
Are you old enough
Are you old enough
Are you old enough oo oo
Are you old enough for love

Time goes and here we stand
Laughing at the side joke
Sinkin’ in the quick sand
The other side of another world
Scratch my back for the coloured girls
Yeah, oh yeah

I just happened to kiss someone
I got the moondog blues
You just happened to be standing there
So won’t you tell me
Won’t you tell me the truth

Are you old enough
Are you old enough
Are you old enough
Are you old enough
Are you old enough oo oo
Are you old enough for love

See the lady in the street car lights

Television and red red wine
So won’t you tell me
Won’t you tell me the truth

Are you old enough
Are you old enough
Are you old enough
Are you old enough
Are you old enough oo oo
Are you old enough oh oh

 

Leave a Reply

