My Top Ten Song List – Number 9.

 

Okay, so you know that my number ten is “Bad Moon rising”, but what is number nine you might ask?  The Monkees were another band that was played a lot in my childhood, as my mum had a huge crush on Davy Jones.

 

 

When he died  in February of 2012, I played this song again and was amazed at how well he danced in the clip.  He had groove and I can see why teenage girls adored him.  So my number nine song is “Daydream Believer” by the Monkees.

 

“Daydream Believer”

Oh, I could hide ‘neath the wings
Of the bluebird as she sings.
The six o’clock alarm would never ring.
But it rings and I rise,
Wipe the sleep out of my eyes.
My shavin’ razor’s cold and it stings.Cheer up, Sleepy Jean.
Oh, what can it mean.
To a daydream believer
And a homecoming queen.

You once thought of me
As a white knight on a steed.
Now you know how happy I can be.
Oh, and our good times start and end
Without dollar one to spend.
But how much, baby, do we really need.

Cheer up, Sleepy Jean.
Oh, what can it mean.
To a daydream believer
And a homecoming queen.
Cheer up, Sleepy Jean.
Oh, what can it mean.
To a daydream believer
And a homecoming queen.

[Instrumental interlude]

Cheer up, Sleepy Jean.
Oh, what can it mean.
To a daydream believer
And a homecoming queen.
[Repeat and fade]

 

17 thoughts on “My Top Ten Song List – Number 9.

  1. Thanks for stopping by my blog. I grew up watching The Monkees. This is was one of their better songs. I missed your number 10, but it is a great tune as well, in spite of its misunderstood lyrics – “there is a bathroom on the right.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

