The Game of the Year.

Simply the best game of Rugby league I have ever seen.

When we all sat down to watch the Grand final, the house was divided into loyalties.  Both teams were from Queensland, my home state and Broncos were the favorites without a doubt.  But, I stuck to my guns and swung my support behind the Cowboys as I had said, and it was the game of the year without a doubt.  The teams both were on the defensive and playing it hard right through the first half, where the bulk of the points were made.  It could really have been anyone’s game I was thinking, but the second half….scores had the Broncs leading….right to the 80th minute….the full time siren, when the Cowboys managed to make a try as the buzzer sounded.  My heart lept out of my chest and I held my breath when the Captain, Johnathon Thurston lined up to kick the field goal and win the match.

Shock of shocks, he booted it and it hit the pole, throwing the match into the golden point which meant that the next scoring try would win the match.  The stadium and those in my house erupted when JT kicked the winning goal….and it was bloody fantastic.  Both teams did us proud, but to see the Cowboys win their first ever Premiership was the icing on the cake for my weekend of footy.

 

JT and his daughter on the field.

 

 

Leave a Reply

