One Hit Wonders – Bow Wow Wow : I want Candy.

Originally this song was performed by the Strangeloves in 1965, only to be covered by Bow Wow Wow in May of 1982.  Produced by Kenny Laguna, it went to number nine in the UK and was a popular dance track in Australia.

Lead singer, Annabella Lwin was only 14 when she was discovered by Malcolm McLaren, working in a dry cleaning shop in 1980,  making her just 16 when she did the clip.

 

I know a guy who’s tough but sweet
He’s so fine, he can’t be beat
He’s got everything that I desire
Sets the summer sun on fire

I want candy, I want candy

Go to see him when the sun goes down
Ain’t no finer boy in town
You’re my guy, just what the doctor ordered
So sweet, you make my mouth water

I want candy, I want candy

Candy on the beach, there’s nothing better
But I like candy when it’s wrapped in a sweater
Some day soon I’ll make you mine,
Then I’ll have candy all the time

I want candy, I want candy
I want candy, I want candy

 

4 thoughts on “One Hit Wonders – Bow Wow Wow : I want Candy.

Leave a Reply

